The Stradbally Market House is a unique covered market erected in 1899 to commemorate local doctor William Perceval. Built of wrought-iron on steel columns with a tent-shaped roof of riveted corrugated iron, it is significant for its rarity value and its architectural, social and technical interest. Conservation works involved replacement of six corroded columns to stabilise the structure, repair of wrought ironwork and roof covering, retaining 70% of the original sheeting in situ, and application of a protective Noxyde paint. Adjoining public toilets were removed to open the view to the rolling landscape to the south of the town. Ground surfaces were upgraded with local limestone and power-washed concrete, and a fixed timber market table was reinstated based on sketches made from memory by a local carpenter. An historic water pump was sourced and installed fed from a new water harvesting tank, and new internal lighting was provided.
Lotts Architecture and Urbanism
South William Street
Tel/Fax: +353 (0) 1 6771006
Email: Click Here